Cooking – Be Creative! Casserole Idea

I have mentioned a few times that I started the SCD Diet with my 13 year old son this past April. There is a local “home cooking” restaurant on a corner near my home that I have to pass any time I go anywhere. Once a week I see “squash casserole” on their menu on the front sign. So needless to say I have been craving squash casserole. A couple of weeks ago one of our mom followers send me a great recipe idea about crushing up pork rinds and putting it around vegetables to fry. So last night I decided to try being creative and make up my own recipe for squash casserole using the pork rinds.

Now please keep in mind I am one of those people that usually goes by the recipe and I do not ever try to substitute or play around with recipes unless I get my mom or someone else’s advice first. But I did think my end result here was good. I will make it again.

I sliced up my yellow squash and put it in the skillet with some butter and a little water and oil, salt and pepper and onion flakes. When it was soft I drained the water and mixed in about a cup to a cup and a half of crush pork rinds. I topped it with cheese and stuck it in the oven on 400 degrees for about 15 minutes.

Now please understand this creativity of mine is not anything you would find in a “cookbook”, but for something different it was good. I am hoping by sharing this with you it might give you some ideas or an example of being creative. One mom shared a creative idea with the pork rinds with me, which gave me an idea. Now I’m passing our creativity to you. Please share with us what comes to your mind!

And on my defense for anyone planning on trying this recipe, it was good enough to me that I am looking forward to having the leftovers at lunch! 😉

2 thoughts on “Cooking – Be Creative! Casserole Idea

  1. Sounds good to me Paige. I am going to try. I guess you can find pork rinds that are legal. I would love to just crunch on some pork rinds……really miss my chips.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!