Welcome To Our New Blog, Mom’s!!!

Hello, everyone!  I’m excited to get our blog up and running!  First I would like to share with you why I wanted to start this blog.  I wanted to find a way that each one of our SCD  Diet Mom’s could keep connected and share our experiences with each other.  I love talking to each and everyone of you and trying to help you, but I am not an expert on the diet.  I am only giving you information from what I have learned over the past six months fixing the diet for my son, Justin.  I have found that I learn something new almost every week or so.  I am hoping by having this blog we can all help each other with what we have learned and educate each other better. 

We have all learned that the SCD Diet is NOT easy!  I want the blog to help make our lives easier by giving us access to finding our questions and feeling connected.  My hope is that the blog will give us more time when we do get to talk on the phone to offer personal support, instead of trying to cram all of our questions in.  We can all admit that hearing that someone else is/has struggled with this and that it does get easier, helps us keep going. 

I found the picture posted appropriate for how I see what we are going through with the SCD Diet.  Our children are going through something unexplainable, and God has given us this diet as an opportunity to help heal our children.  Not all parents choose this road that we have chosen.  But we chose the SCD Diet road because we see the hope we can give our children.  Each of us should be proud for what we are doing!  And know that no matter how this diet helps/heals our children, we loved them enough and took the opportunity to try to help them.   APPLAUSE TO ALL OF OUR MOM’S!  And most of all, thank you to Kathy, who researched and did this diet on her own, and introduced it to Dr. Cohen so we have hope to help our children as well.  Thank you, Kathy!!!

Please look around the blog and see what there is to offer.  To the top right I will post links to websites that I think are helpful.  Below that to the right is a random section I will post questions or homework for us Mom’s.  Footnotes at the bottom of the blog include a category list of our past blogs and a calendar you can view blogs you might have missed or want to go back to.  At the bottom right you can enter your email address so that each time a new blog is posted it goes straight to your email and you don’t have to remember to visit here regularly. 

Remember this is a blog for all of us.  I want you to email me anytime you have questions or comments that you would like posted.  If you find anything new online, email it to me so I can share it with everyone.  If you have random thoughts and want to share them and want some feedback, email them to me and I will post them.  If you have any tips for the blog, let me know.  I have never blogged before and tried to design this to meet our needs.  I hope each of you will find this blog helpful and you will each participate.

6 thoughts on “Welcome To Our New Blog, Mom’s!!!

  1. I am so proud of you for starting this blog Paige! You have been such a huge help from day one! You and all of my fabulous SCD moms have made my job much easier! I had no clue when we started this study that I would meet such great people and learn so much from them! You have all definitely touched me and I will keep up with the blog so that I can know how you are all doing!! Many of you follow-up at different locations, so I won’t get to see you in the office as often. If you are ever in though, please let me know so that I can come up and say hello! Good luck guys – keep up all of the HARD work 🙂

  2. Paige,
    great job!! I can’t thank you enough for doing this for all of us. I saw the homework assignment and will blog back my story by the end of this week. Sorry for the delay, but I have to work overtime some this week. Thank you so much. I think this is going to be a great source of comfort as well as info to all of us.

    Angie

  3. Paige, I am so proud of you and even more so THANKFUL for you! You have truly been a blessing to me and my son, and I literally could not have started the SCD without you. I know this blog is going to be a wealth of information for other moms of children with Crohns and on the SCD. You are truly one-of-a-kind and an angel in disguise. Thank you so much again!!

  4. Paige,
    How AWESOME is this blog and how AWESOME YOU are …..THANK YOU!!! It has been a roller coaster for us for a few years now and I do believe
    SCD is going to heal Austin! I am so Thankful for such informative, caring and dedicated Moms like you, taking the time to share and make everything so much easier! Bless you!!
    XO,
    Jennifer

  5. Hi All,
    Just wanted to let you know that the flat bread recipe I got from Paige was used this morning to make french toast for Austin and it was a winner. I am always looking for alternatives to eggs and bacon for breakfast. Austin has gotten so tired of eggs that if I can hide them in french toast or ice cream it works great and he gets some much needed protein.

  6. Thank you all. And I couldn’t have done the diet alone without all of you! I hope we all make this blog a success for what it is meant to be for….a BFF for Mom’s with kids on the SCD Diet.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

