Homemade Yogurt/Yogurt Maker

Do not get overwhelmed!  When you first think, Homemade Yogurt!  And when you first read the recipe, try not to freak out!  It is not as hard as it looks!  After making the homemade yogurt two or three times it will be as easy and routine as making tea!  I promise!

First let me start off by giving you a tip that Lucy, owner a great website you will get to know well http://www.scdkitchen.com/, told me one day when I called asking about yogurt ideas.  She recommends making the yogurt with Half & Half.  It helps take away the tartness. 

You have two options in purchasing your yogurt machine and starters.  

The Yogourmet machine is sold on Lucy’s Kitchen website http://www.scdkitchen.com/yogour-met.html.  It comes with a 2-quart container to make the yogurt.  Yogourmet also has a yogurt starter, also sold on Lucy’s Kitchen website http://www.scdkitchen.com/yogour-met.html#starter

The Euro Cuisine Yogurt machine makes seven pint size yogurts at a time http://www.target.com/p/Euro-Cuisine-Automatic-Yogurt-Maker-YM100/-/A-11078047.  They go great into the fridge.  Please note that the Euro Cuisine also has yogurt starter http://www.target.com/p/Euro-Cuisine-All-Natural-Yogurt-Starter-5-pk/-/A-10393606.  This yogurt starter contains different bacteria, but it is also scd legal.  I highly recommend purchasing the extra yogurt containers http://www.target.com/p/Euro-Cuisine-Set-of-8-Glass-Jars-for-Yogurt-Maker/-/A-10270630.  Most of us scd mom’s have this yogurt machine, for the convenience of storing in the fridge.

Now that you have your yogurt maker it’s time to make yogurt!  Do not confuse yourself reading the instructions on how to make yogurt that come with your yogurt maker!  Most of the directions say to leave the yogurt in the machine 6-8 hours.  SCD yogurt must stay in the machine for 24 hours!  Then rest in the refrigerator 8 hours before eating. 

Yogurt recipe from Breaking the Vicious Cycle: http://www.breakingtheviciouscycle.info/knowledge_base/kb/yoghurt_scd.htm

My summarized recipe of her recipe using my Euro Cuisine Yogurt Maker & Starter:

  • Put 42 oz. half & half in boiler with candy thermometer. 
  • Put on medium-high heat and watch and stir occasionally until temperature reaches around 180 degrees (almost boiling). 
  • Turn temperature down to low heat and stir constantly at this temperature for 2 minutes. 
  • Take off burner and let set until temperature reaches around 110 degrees.  (I set my timer for about 30-35 minutes and then it’s getting close to being cooled down to the correct temperature.  Be sure to take the skim off the top of the milk and stir then check temperature.) 
  • Have starter in a small bowl and pour small amount (about ½ cup) of warm milk into bowl and mix with whisk.  Add a little more milk and whisk until you are sure all starter is mixed. 
  • Pour starter milk into rest of warm milk and stir until mixed well.  (I use a ladel to scoop the warm milk and put into the individual serving cups.) 
  • With this yogurt machine you do not put the lids on the container.  You put the jars on machine and the clear plastic lid on. 
  • NOTE:  The timer hours on the machine only go up to 15 hours.  You will have to let the milk cook in the machine for 24 hours, so you will have to unplug the machine and restart it midway.  (I usually start mine between 5-8pm and I know 12-15 hours later at 8-11 the next morning I need to turn the machine back on.  And I know the next evening when the yogurt is finished and ready to go into the fridge I will be home.) 
  • After the yogurt has been in the machine for 24 hours, put the lids on the jars and they must sit in the fridge for 8 hours before eating.  (I have accidentally forgotten to take the yogurt off after 24 hours and gone over a few hours, the yogurt was fine.)
  • PLEASE NOTE:  You have to figure out a schedule that works best for you when making yogurt.  You have to remember that you it will take about 45 minutes to an hour when boiling the milk until it goes into the machine to start.  And you will need to make sure when you start the yogurt that you will be home the next day, 24 hours later, to put the yogurt into the fridge.  I always put a note to myself beside the yogurt maker reminding me what time I started the yogurt.  This also reminds me that in 12-15 hours before the yogurt automatically turns off that I need to restart the machine so the timer restarts.

I promise this is NOT difficult after you make it a couple of times!  I love having the extra pint containers, so whenever I have seven clean containers I know it’s time to make more yogurt.

Yogurt is great for making smoothies and homemade ice cream.  Please look under recipes for homemade ice cream and yogurt idea blogs!

7 thoughts on “Homemade Yogurt/Yogurt Maker

  1. Oh my goodness, this has just made my life alot easier! I’m going on the SCD after being diagnosed with SIBO and hit the “I’m overwhelmed with information what the heck do I do” moment yesterday. I haven’t had meats for 7 months due to the stomach issues so literally after starting the SCD for the intro diet the basic things I’m ok to eat are eggs…and home made gelatin. I’ve been looking at yogurt makers and wasn’t sure how well the euro cuisine would work with the 24 hour cooking time, considering I can get it TODAY at a store near my house, the other I would have to wait atleast a week before starting a batch. Thank you so much for the added directions on how you do this yourself. I’ll be looking back once I get my machine!

    • Thank you for looking! Let me know if you have any questions! And we have lots of ideas and some recipes to do with the yogurt so it doesn’t get boring!!! Let us know how it goes!

  2. Hi, I’m so glad to find your blog. We are beginning the SCD and our yogurt maker just arrived (Euro cuisine ym100). I have Yogourmet starter and am willing to purchase commercial yogurt if it’s easier. The problem I have, in addition to being completely overwhelmed, is that I don’t know how much starter to use for the 42 oz. capacity. The SCD instructions speak in terms of quarts. Can you give me the exact amount for our 42oz. yogurt maker? Also, If I use 2 quarts worth of starter, can I refrigerate/freeze the rest for later use? Do you only use 1 quart’s worth of starter? Any help would be greatly appreciated! 🙂

    • Hello, Angela. I’m glad you found our blog! Please do not hesitate to let me know if you have any questions for other moms or anything you want to share. And if you ever need to talk you can email me your number to scddiet4kids@gmail.com.
      I also have the Euro Cuisine yogurt maker. (See my blog https://scddiet4kids.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/homemade-yogurtyogurt-maker/ for my version of the instructions, etc.) I have pretty much always used the Euro Cuisine yogurt starter since my son started the diet 3 years ago. I have tried the Yogourmet starter before to try seeing if he preferred the flavor of that one. (I am assuming you are talking about the powder starter mixes?) I have never looked at the measurements. I use one packet to each yogurt recipe I make. I have not ever used nor have I talked to anyone that has used a commercial yogurt to make the SCD yogurt. I know there is only one commercial yogurt I remember reading that it said you could use. I follow the directions for making the yogurt and use one packet of which ever powder packet I’m using and it fills each of my Euro Cuisine cups just right. I also purchased one set of the extra glass containers. At the beginning of the diet when your child is eating the yogurt a couple of times a day you will need the extra.
      I know starting out can be challenging. Please let me know if you have any questions. I am SO sorry I haven’t gotten back with you sooner! My oldest son had surgery last week and I’ve had to wait on him all day for the past week and haven’t been able to respond. Good luck! Talk to you soon!

      • Paige,
        Thank you so much for your reply! I really was stressing out. After a night’s sleep it occurred to me that I could check the Euro Cuisine website. They have product videos there. The presenter said to use 2-3 ounces of commercial starter. From that I got the idea that the precise amount wasn’t really all that important. This calmed me down. I did go ahead and set up a batch using raw goat milk and plain Bellwether Farms sheep milk yogurt. It contains S. Thermophilus, L Bulgaricus, L. Acidophilus and Bifidus. I know the last one is a no-no, but I figured I might end up eating this batch myself, kind of as a test run! 🙂
        I will have to get a package of the Euro Cuisine starter and see how that comes out in comparison. (Do they really taste all that different?) We’re at the beginning of this gut healing journey. There is so much to learn.
        Thank you so much for your reply. No worries about the time lapse. Your son needed you much more than I did. I hope all is going well for him now. Best wishes!

        • I haven’t ever used goat milk either. I believe the yogurt taste is just what you get used to. The SCD yogurt tastes different than yogurt you get at the store. Search on my blog for “yogurt” and read some other posts.
          Please be sure to follow the yogurt instructions for SCD yogurt, NOT instructions from your yogurt maker. My Euro Cuisine yogurt maker timer is only for 15 hours so I have to restart it to make it run a total of 24 hours.
          Let me know if you have any questions.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

