Beef Jerky

Beef Jerky from Eat Well, Feel Well cookbook
 
Makes 15-20 pieces
This chewy additive-free jerky is a great alternative to the artificial store-bought variety.  If using a dehydrator instead of oven, set it to 145 F and dry for 8 hours.
 
1 pound top sirlon, sliced paper thin ( aks the butcher to slice it, slightly frozen, on the meat slicer)  
   -I ask the butcher at Publix and she had some already in the meat counter labeled thin 
    sliced and it worked really well!   I just cut it into strips to make smaller pieces)
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
 
Preheat oven to 175 F
 
  In a large bowl, mix together the meat, oil, garlic, salt and pepper, coating the meat well on both sides.  Lay the meat on cookie sheets and place in oven.  Leave the meat overnight, 8 to 10 hours, until dried but still a little chewy.  Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to a week.
 
It was the real deal,,,,,really easy and very tasty…the whole family enjoyed it!!
Jennifer
 
 
I usually get the butcher at Publix to slice me up some London Broil which they say is the best for jerky.  I sprinkle it with salt, fresh ground pepper, and lightly with cayenne pepper.  I have smoked this (or should I say, my husband has smoked this…) on the grill and I (yes, “I”) have also dehydrated the meat on the dehydrater.  I don’t go by a time.  I just cook it or dehydrate it until it looks and tastes ready. 
 
GREAT FOR SNACKS!!!
One thought on “Beef Jerky

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

