Thanksgiving Day Menu

Thanksgiving Day is fast approaching!  We will be headed out of town to visit my family in Louisiana this Thanksgiving.  I had to go ahead and cook most of Justin’s Thanksgiving meal ahead of time and freeze it to carry it to my mom’s.  I was very pleased with how all of my recipes turned out so I thought I would share them with you and what I am planning to make Justin’s Thanksgiving special this year. 

After browsing online for a long time looking for that right Dressing recipe, I decided to try to make my mom’s recipe improvising things in Justin’s diet.  My family has always had a cornbread type Dressing, instead of most of the Stuffing recipes I have seen online for the SCD Diet.   (If I refer to another SCD Recipe then you can look at past posts and find the recipe for that item.)

Dressing

2 recipes of flatbread/sandwich bread

1 recipe cream of mushroom soup (note:  will need some of the chicken broth for this recipe.)

3 boiled eggs

1 cup chicken broth

6 deboned boiled chicken legs (Justin prefers dark meat and I read somewhere that dark meat gives a better broth.)

Cook the flatbread and crumble up in large mixing bowl.  Prepare the cream of mushroom soup and pour over bread crumbles and stir together.  Cut up boiled eggs and add along with chopped up chicken.  Add chicken broth and pour into 9×13 pan.  Cook at 350 degrees.  Check every 15-20 minutes and continue stirring and cooking until soupy broth is gone and dressing is firm. 

*  I’m freezing half of the Dressing for my Christmas Day meal.

Cranberry/Apple Relish (past blog)

This recipe turned out yummy!   Justin loves it.  I froze it to carry this week while traveling. 

Garlic-Parmesan Bread and Rolls (past blog)

Justin was begging for rolls for Thanksgiving day.  These turned out really good!  Going to try freezing these also.

Cauliflower Potatoes

Green Beans

I hope everyone has a blessed Thanksgiving!

 

 

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

