Almond Flour Waffles

We have a new favorite breakfast at our house. Finding a quick breakfast for in the mornings can be tricky. Justin has been begging for me to make waffles, seeing all of the waffle makers in the stores for Christmas time. I found a cute flippable waffle maker at Walmart and was surprised to see at the register it was only $10! I wasn’t looking forward to making waffles, because I have never had any luck making waffles. My waffles had always stuck in the past and I wasn’t thinking the almond flour dough would help any. We made our first waffles this past Sunday. They were BEAUTIFUL! I was as excited as Justin! He put half of them in the refrigerator and said they were just as good reheated. He wants me to make some and freeze so he can pull them out for breakfasts during the school week.
I made a double batch today and tried some waffles with frozen blueberries tossed on top of the dough in the waffle maker. He liked these, too. I have included a picture of the waffle maker I purchased from Walmart. I spray it with my olive oil from my mister I cook with regularly every time before I put in the dough. This waffle maker has a ready light so you know when it’s heated up. The directions on the waffle maker says it takes 3 minutes per waffle, but it’s only been taking 2-2:15 minutes and they are ready and come right out! I put approximately 1/8 cup in each waffle section. I froze my first batch today, hoping they work great for school mornings! Enjoy!

Almond Flour Waffles – “Cooking for the Specific Carbohydrate Diet” Cookbook

1 cup almond flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (optional)
4 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 tablespoons honey

1. Preheat your waffle iron on medium setting. Grease as needed, or according to the manufactuer’s directions.
2. Place the almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cinnamon in a mixing bowl. Blend together using a whisk.
3. Add the eggs, vanilla, and honey and whisk until well blended.
4. Pour about 1/4 cup batter into the heated waffle maker (more or less, depending on your waffle iron) and close the lid.
5. When the waffle is ready, transfer it to a place and add your favorite topping. Seal and store any extra waffles in the regrigerator for a few days, or freeze them for up to a month or so.

20131231-140443.jpg

20131231-140450.jpg

4 thoughts on “Almond Flour Waffles

    • I feel that way too! It gets exhausting doesn’t it! I try I get Justin to make certain things and keep plenty in the freezer he can pull out! Hope this works for you!!!

  1. Pingback: Almond Flour Waffles | scddiet4kids

  2. Pingback: Back To School Breakfast | scddiet4kids

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

