Adding Weight & Calories Per Lucy – Repost from 10/2011

Per a few mom’s request, I called Lucy today to discuss weight gain and adding calories.  She said the main thing to remember is to eat a balanced diet with lots of variety!  She mentioned this numerous times.

A few things she recommended to help add calories, was making the yogurt from half & half, as well as remembering that almond flour is 500 calories per cup (and to note that no more than 4 muffins should be eaten a day).

Lucy said that you should not expect to see any weight gain in the firt 2-3 months on the diet.  I mentioned to her that my son, Justin has been on the diet for 7 months now and has actually lost 5-6 pounds.  Lucy asked if he was he energetic, was I giving him a variety and well balanced diet, and was he eating plenty.  I told her YES!  He eats all the time!  She said that his health was most important, not to watch the weight, it will come.

Lucy said to “Eat enough but eat smart to get healthy with a balanced diet.”  She said to stuff yourself with “stuff” to gain weight is not healthy.

3 thoughts on “Adding Weight & Calories Per Lucy – Repost from 10/2011

  1. You really make it appear really easy together with
    your presentation however I in finding this matter
    to be actually something that I feel I’d by no means understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely broad for me.
    I am having a look forward for your subsequent submit, I will try to
    get the hold of it!

  2. I guess everyone is different. After gaining no weight pre-scd for years, once my son started it, his weight (and height) gain took off. He was RAVENOUS. I had the feeling that his body was trying to make up for lost time and was finally getting the nourishment it needed now that he could eat and eat and not be constantly losing nutrients through d. That meant, of course, that my husband and I spent almost all of our non-working time in the kitchen as we learned new recipes and tried to find things to appeal to him. One thing that really seemed to help with the calories was a highly caloric smoothie every morning with 2 bananas, 2 c yogurt, honey, fruit, avocado. Those could be up to 1000 calories. Add in the many eggs he would eat for breakfast, SCD legal bacon, and some muffins, and breakfast alone was probably the standard caloric intake needed for a kid his size…He’s now safely in the middle of the BMI chart and his weight gain has slowed and he isn’t quite so ravenous…though sometimes any pre-teen/teen is, and so is he. :- )

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

