Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

Another great looking Super Bowl recipe.  I think I will try this one!  What’s your vote?

Slow Cooked Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1 1/2 cups homemade BBQ sauce

2 Tbsp free lemon juice

4 apples peeled and chopped

1 onion, diced

8 to 12 slices bacon

1.  Wrap each chicken breast with bacon slices.

2.  Place each bacon-wrapped chicken breast in your slow cooker.

3.  In a bowl, combine the BBQ sauce, lemon juice, apples, and onion, and mix well.

4.  Pour the BBQ sauce mixture over the chicken.  Cover and cook on low for 6 to 8 hours.

5.  Serve the chicken breasts topped with the apple and onion mixture.

 

2 thoughts on “Bacon-Wrapped Chicken

    • My son’s been on the diet 3 years now and I’ve gotten lazy with my bbq and ketchup. I use the Hunt’s Ketchup that says “No Preservatives – 100% Natural – No High Fructose Corn Syrup” on it. For BBQ I mix about 2/3 ketcup to 1/3 honey and some pepper and mix. This ketchup does have vinegar though. Do you have a ketchup recipe you use? Honestly if he can’t have the vinegar, I would try mixing up some SCD legal canned or fresh whole tomatoes and mixing with honey and using that mixture. AND if you want for more flavor – there are some SCD legal spaghetti sauces/marinara sauces at the grocery store. You could mix some honey with some of that. I don’t have any in my pantry right now for me to read the ingredients and see if they have vinegar, but I don’t remember vinegar being in those. Hope some of these ideas works for you! One thing I’ve learned cooking for SCD and from talking to Wendy (who can take just about any regular recipe and substitute and make it SCD legal) is to play around with the ingredients and don’t worry too much about sticking strictly to the recipe. Play around and listen to what your child likes and learn to cook to their tastes! Good luck! Let me know!

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

