Strawberry Arugula Salad

strawberry saladI found this recipe on Facebook and tweeked it to an SCD recipe. My 13 year old son, Justin, loved it. He especially liked the Spiced Pecans so I will post the pecan recipe here as well as on another post so you can pull it up easily if you are looking for it later. I will double or triple the pecan recipe next time. He wants those for a snack.

Strawberry Arugula Salad
(I will type the recipe as I found it on Facebook and what I substituted beside it. Substitute your favorites instead.)

2.5 oz fresh arugula, about half tub (I just used the spring mix I had in the fridge)
1 cup spiced pecans, recipe below
1/2 lb fresh strawberries sliced
1/4 cup crumbled goat cheese, optional (I do not believe goat cheese is SCD legal, I used swiss cheese)
Lime vinaigrette, recipe below

* Toss salad, strawberries and pecans.
* Top with cheese.
* Drizzle dressing over salad immediately befroe serving.

Spice Pecans
1 cup pecan halves
1 Tbsp coconut oil
2 tsp honey
1 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp cardamom (I left this out. It’s $10-12 at the grocery store and I haven’t bought any yet.)

* Heat skillet over med-high heat. Add coconut oil and honey. Add pecans and stir to coat.
* Sprinkle spices over pecans and stir to coat.
* Continue stirring constantly and cook until pecans have browned and are fragrant, 5-6 minutes. Watch carefully to make sure they don’t burn.
* Pour out onto a plate and let cool.

Lime Vinaigrette
Juice of one lime, approx. 2 Tbsp
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/8 tsp fresh cracked pepper to taste

* Mix well and pour onto salad immediately or mix again right before use.

One thought on “Strawberry Arugula Salad

  1. Pingback: Neil Perry’s Barbecued Barramundi | Izzy's Lifestyle Blog

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

