What You’ve All Been Waiting For – 3 YEAR PILL CAM RESULTS

I finally got the call and I had tears in my eyes! I couldn’t wait to share it with you all!

For those of you that just started following the blog… Today is April 23, 2014. My 13 year old son, Justin, has been on the SCD Diet for 3 years and 2 months. When he was diagnosed in January 2011, our doctor offered us the SCD Diet Test Study or medications. We chose the SCD Diet. At the one year mark of Justin being on the diet we did a pill cam and it showed the intestines of a healthy child. It has been 2 years since that pill cam and we were wanting to know if the diet was working as good on Justin’s insides as it appears on the outside. He is growing and a healthy, VERY active, 13 year old. I just got the call from his 3 year pill cam. The doctor was amazed to see that he showed no signs of Crohn’s Disease. From the pill cam you would never know that he has Crohn’s. I had tears when I heard! I have tears now as I type this.

If anything, I hope this gives each of you the encouragement to keep going! It’s a tough road, but we love our children! It’s all worth it!!!

IMG_0831

12 thoughts on “What You’ve All Been Waiting For – 3 YEAR PILL CAM RESULTS

  1. Yeah!!!!! Congratulations to you & Justin 🙂 This would not be possible without all of your love and dedication that you’ve put into this diet for your son. How encouraging for the rest of us!!! Thanks for sharing the great news 🙂 !

    • Thank you, Jody! I pray the best for you and your child as well!!! I hope this diet is the answer to keeping our children healthy and live a longer life!

  2. Wonderful news!!! I’m so happy for you and Justin.

    It’s a good day here as well. Dr. Gold’s office called to say my daughter’s three-month labs look great. I can’t believe how three months have taken her from a very sick, pale, malnourished girl to the strong girl she is today. Her vitamin D level rose from 16 to 34, just to give an idea of how great things look!

  3. Paige, how wonderful! This gave me chills and tears. Nothing could be more satisfying than seeing your child grow and thrive like this. Bravo to Justin for sticking with it, and bravo to you for your dedication! News like this gives us all a boost and helps use keep at it.

    • I am keeping my son on the diet as strictly as I can. If you have read about the Paleo diet, it’s very similar to SCD. (My doctor said Paleo is not scientifically explained line the SCD.) I have added sweet potatoes, maple syrup and dairy free chocolate chips occasionally. We do let him have a cheat day when he’s out socially with friends. He has done this before. He had camp for 3 days and ate their food and didn’t have any symptoms but came home and got back strict on the diet. He hasn’t had any symptoms that he has told me about since he’s been on the diet 3 years now and when he cheats. I will keep him on the SCD as his main way of eating as long as he lives with me.

  4. I am just now seeing this picture…So handsome 🙂 I am so very proud of Justin and you…If I don’t tell you every time we talk, you are amazing!! Hugs!

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

