Pineapple Upside Down Cake – YUMMY!

So as I mentioned a couple of weeks ago I started the diet 2 weeks ago with my 13 year old. He should be enjoying this! If I’m going to survive I have to have sweets! Lol So I’m making sure there is something sweet in the house – SCD Legal – everyday! I found this new recipe for Pineapple Upside Down Cake. Wow! It’s really good! It’s as close to a “regular” cake that I have tasted with SCD cakes! I was really happy with it. I guess Justin is too, because he almost ate half of the 9×13 cake last night by himself! I only had one piece, I promise! But I am looking forward to having another piece for a snack today! I did not turn my cake out, I just left it in the 9×13 pan I cooked it in. And please note I believe the almond flavoring is very important to this recipe, so make sure you have some. It makes the cake smell wonderful and the taste just makes the cake! This is a must try recipe!

Pineapple Upside Down Cake
10-12 pineapple rings (I bought a can of sliced pineapple in it’s own juice. The can only has 10 rings. My cake turned out just fine with 10 rings, 4 rings on the outside and 2 rings in the middle.)
cherries or berries (optional – I didn’t use, but will try to use cherries next time I bake this.)
2/3 cup honey
2/3 cup coconut oil
4 eggs
1/2 cup homemade yogurt
1/4 cup pineapple juice (make sure you save the pineapple juice from the can!)
1 tablespoon almond flavoring (Yes! That’s not a typo – 1 tablespoon. The flavoring really makes this cake!)
4 cups almond flour
1/2 teaspoon sea salt (I used regular salt. Alot of the recipes call for “sea salt”, but we don’t like the strong salt taste the sea salt gives.”
1 teaspoon baking soda

Place pineapple rings in greased 9×13 inch pan. Place cherries or berries in the middle of each pineapple ring(optional). In food processor or mixer (I just used a wire whisk), combine honey and coconut oil. Mix eggs, one at a time, into honey and coconut oil mixture. Add yogurt, pineapple juice, and almond flavoring and mix well. Add almond flour, salt and baking soda and combine thoroughly. Pour batter into pan with fruit. Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for about 45 minutes. Cool and flip onto platter. Enjoy!

One thought on “Pineapple Upside Down Cake – YUMMY!

  1. This cake is delicious! Most importantly, my daughter loves it. The only change I made was to use fresh pineapple rings. Next time I may cook longer at a lower temp because the outside was very done and it was a bit doughy in the middle. But it was still fabulous! Thanks for sharing.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

