Banana Bread – YUM!

I LOVE trying out new recipes to share! Lol I’ve been finding some really good ones lately! 🙂 Ever since I tried the peanut butter fudge recipe, I keep fudge in my freezer! It’s great to pull out when I have a sweet craving! My favorite is the peanut butter fudge, Justin’s favorite is the cashew butter fudge. We tried the almond butter fudge this weekend. It’s my second favorite, and Justin really likes it too. It’s SO easy to make and really tastes great!

I had some very ripe bananas today and looked up a banana recipe. This is one of the best ones we have had yet! It turned out better looking than any of the other recipes I have tried as well. It is VERY moist and tastes almost like “normal” banana bread, not SCD. We will be making this more often!!!

Banana Bread
3 soft ripe bananas
1 cup coconut flour
3 eggs
3 Tbsp coconut oil (melted)
3 Tbsp butter/ghee (melted)
1/4 cup honey (1/3 c honey if you prefer a sweeter bread) – I used the 1/3 cup
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg (optional) – I added this
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp vanilla
walnuts (optional) – I added about 1/4 cup
dates chopped (optional) – I added four of these, can’t even taste they are in there!

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Now start with three overly ripe bananas, peel them, toss them in a bowl and mash them with a fork.
Next sift your dry ingredients into a separate bowl. Recommend sifting the coconut flour twice. (I only sifted mine once.)
Stir together the bananas, honey, eggs, vanilla, apple cider vinegar, metled butter and coconut oil until combined. Can do this with a fork, no need for a mixer.
Fold the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, a third at a time. (I stirred all of my flour in at one time.) Fold in until well incorporated.
Can add a few chopped dates. A small amount of chopped walnuts can also be used if you can tolerate nuts.
Line a loaf pan with parchment paper. (I used wax paper.) Adding a small amount of cooking oil to the pan first helps.
Stick in the oven and check in 45 minutes, usually it takes an hour. (I took mine out at 55 minutes.) There is some variation in the times based on the moisture of the bananas and honey. Your banana bread will be done when the center is still soft, but is just starting to appear dry on top and the edges get golden brown. When it is finished, allow it to cool about 15-20 minutes before removing from the pan. Then slice it, slather it with butter, and try not to eat the whole thing. (Really! It’s so good you will want more than one piece!)

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

