SCD Cheezits

Grandma Carol shared this Cheezit recipe with us and look at those pictures! I told her I wanted to order some from her! Lol Thank you so much for sharing!!! Can’t wait to try them!

Grandma Carol wrote:

I saw you posted a request for a cracker recipe. If you can do dairy, this is a great recipe for a crispy cheezit type cracker. It now seems to be my little grandson’s favorite. The following link is to the original recipe. I’ve made some minor modifications to the recipe as shown.

http://relishscd.blogspot.com/2011/10/homemade-cheeze-its-scd-style.html

Homemade Cheezits

2 cups Almond Flour
3 ounces mild Cheddar Cheese shredded
3 ounces Monterrey Jack Cheese shredded
1 teaspoon Salt plus more for tops
1 teaspoon Garlic Powder (read your ingredients and make sure it is legal)
1/2 tablespoon Dried Onion Flakes
1/4 cup Water
1 TBSP Olive Oil

Mix cheese and almond flour in food processor until smooth. Then add the rest of the ingredients and blend until well mixed. Take the “dough” and place between two sheets of parchment paper. Use a rolling pin and roll until the thinness you desire your faux Cheese-Its to be. Don’t be shy about the thinness. Use a pizza cutter to score into cracker sizes. Sprinkle top with salt (this is key). Bake at 325 degrees for 18-20 minutes or so. You will need to keep an eye on them since they can overcook easily.

This is a picture of the final product. To make the square Cheezits I use a 1/16″ rolling pin ring and the pastry wheel pictured below, and an old Tupperware mini funnel to poke holes in the center. I’ve also included a picture of some fish crackers made with the same recipe but using a tad more almond flour.

I’ve made them without the little ‘gadgets’ and they turned out just as good. Let me know if you get a chance to try them!

IMG_3147.JPG

4 thoughts on “SCD Cheezits

  1. WHOA!!!! I KNOW there is NO WAY these “cheeZe-its” are first homemade and second SCD legal!! OMGOSH!! They look FANTASTIC!!! Cameron JUST asked me this week if I could try making him some good crackers!!! PAIGE, what can I say??!! You are AWESOME!! And to the grandmother who shared THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!! I’m definitely going to try these!! I don’t know what the gadgets are or how to use them, but you better believe I’m going to find out!! LOL!! Smooches and love to you both and again THANK YOU!! God always has the most AWESOME way of answering prayers!!

  2. Wonderful items from you, man. I have be mindful your stuff
    prior to and you’re simply extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired right here, certainly like what you’re stating and the way in which wherein you say it.
    You make it entertaining and you still take care of to stay it smart.
    I can’t wait to learn much more from you. That is actually a wonderful site.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

