DOCTOR REQUEST – PLEASE RESPOND

Do you take your child to see a GI Doctor in Atlanta, GA, at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta – GI Care For Kids??? EVEN IF YOUR CHILD DOES NOT GO TO THIS DOCTOR PLEASE TAKE TIME TO ANSWER QUESTIONS 4-9. I WILL PUT THE INFORMATION TOGETHER AND POST A SUMMARY. I THINK THIS WOULD BE A GREAT ENCOURAGEMENT FOR OTHER MOMS!!! THANKS!

Dr. Cohen, is my son’s GI Doctor at GI Care For Kids in Atlanta, GA. He started the SCD Diet test study Justin started 3 years ago when he was diagnosed with Crohn’s. His research nurse, Angela, called me yesterday and said he is asking for us to put together a list of children that attend their practice and are on the diet. I added the other questions just to summarize some results for other moms as encouragement.

PLEASE respond by emailing me at scddiet4kids@gmail.com with the answers to the following IF your child sees a doctor at GI Care For Kids AND is/or was on the SCD Diet. I think email would be better for privacy reasons instead of commenting here. All emails need to be to me by Monday, September 8. Thank you!

1. Child First & Last Name
2. Parents Name
3. GI Doctor Name
4. Child’s Age
5. Estimated time on SCD Diet (example – 3 years, February, 2011 – present)
6. Does your child follow the diet strictly or do they cheat or is it off and on? (example – follows diet most of the time, cheats socially)
7. How is your child doing on the diet? (example – Justin is medication free and symptom free on the diet)
8. Where did you hear about the SCD Diet? (example – My son’s doctor was doing a test study when he was diagnosed and we were offered medication or trying the study.)
9. Anything else you would like to share. (example – The diet is challenging and hard to get my son to stick to it strictly. AND/OR The diet has been a blessing and great alternative to medication. I am thankful our doctor gave it to us as an option!)

Thank you for responding! This should be interesting! If anyone is interested in reading the test study results from our doctor in Atlanta on the SCD Diet, email me and let me know and I will forward it to you.

8 thoughts on “DOCTOR REQUEST – PLEASE RESPOND

  1. we live in alabama and just made an appt to see dr. benjamin gold in atlanta. i thought he was the one who had got you guys started on SCD. just wondering if we should switch to dr cohen. do you know anything about dr. gold? our current gi in birmingham won’t even talk diet with us and i am looking for a dr. that understands and advocates for the SCD. thanks and sorry i can’t help with the survey. yet…

    • Hello, Jill. Dr. Gold and Dr. Cohen at GI Care For Kids in Atlanta promote the SCD Diet. I have referred a few blog followers to our doctor’s office and they call and make the soonest appointment and usually get in to see Dr. Gold sooner. I have talked to him on the phone before and he sounds great! I would keep my appointment. I believe you cannot go wrong with Dr. Cohen or Dr. Gold! Please let me know how your visit goes. AND please tell Dr. Gold that you heard about him from our blog! Thank you!!!
      Is your son on the diet now? How old is your son? Do you mind emailing me your son’s name and answering the questions from the post even if he’s not on the diet. That way Dr. Cohen can be looking for him on the patient list and following his charts for the diet records.
      Good luck! And please keep in touch!!! Email me at scddiet4kids@gmail.com.

      • thanks paige. we are scheduled to see the dr in oct. ethan is 16 and has been on the diet for many years. he does cheat for social occasions. i think we emailed several years ago. i will email you our personal info. thanks!

  2. Hey Paige
    I will be sure and answer via email as soon as i can get to my computer with time…..it will be Friday after work.
    thanks
    Angie

  3. I am very excited about this! My 11 year old daughter has been on SCD for almost 3 months. Coming off pred, down to 5mg. I would send info but not sure we have been on long enough. We do think she is doing great – one firmed bm a day – on average. Yay! Still on 6mo and Mesalamine.

    I am wondering if I could get link yo study…? VERY interested. πŸ™‚

  4. Hi. I just saw your post scd diet study. We’re looking for new pediatric GI and heard of DR Cohen on scd fb site. This is very exciting news! My daughter has been on exclusive scd for almost 3 months and doing well. We are still on other but hope to reduce this soon. She enjoys having some control over her treatment and likes the food – double bonus! πŸ™‚

    I would do write up but honestly don’t know if he’s been on long enough to warrant being in the study. Plus we are trying to get off of prednisone, down 25 milligrams, yay! but I would appreciate a link to the study. I am very interested in what it has to say so far and any results that you get.Thank You!

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

