Thankful

Today I am reminded of how thankful I am that my son was diagnosed with Crohns Disease and not cancer or another terminally ill disease. I am also so thankful that he has a doctor that puts his patients first and offered my son the opportunity to try the SCD Diet to control his disease instead of medication.
A long time friend of mine has been caring for her 16 year old daughter for over a year battling cancer. Her daughter passed away last night. I cannot imagine the loss of a child. I know she is in a better place and no longer suffering.
Hug your children and be thankful!

7 thoughts on “Thankful

  1. Thank you for the reminder that things could always be worse. It’s been a tough week for my 10-year old, but it’s all relative. Hoping that next week will be better 🙂

    • I know it is so hard! But if you stop and think and look at the big picture we can be thankful! It’s hard to remember that all of the time. I try to remind myself it could be worse and that I am lucky to have him when we are struggling.
      Please reach out for someone to talk to or send us a message to post when you’re feeling alone and frustrates! You’re not alone!!!

  2. OMGOSH!! Honey, I’m SO sorry to hear of your and your friends loss. You’re so right, I wake up every morning and the first words out of my mouth are “Thank you Lord!” And I am so truly thankful, Cameron is literally the picture of health from just one year ago and I can’t stop thanking God. I’m also so thankful for friends like you, family, our children’s doctor, prayer, the SCD and so much more – but above all God’s constant GRACE and MERCY!! I love you sweetie and please know I’m lifting your friends family in prayer. Smooches!!

  3. Paige, I too am thankful for my son’s diagnosis of Crohn’s disease back in 2006 at the age of 11years…even as I sit filling out a Petition for Hardship Withdrawal from his university as he battles his first big flare in 6 years. His disease has been in remission since 2008, thanks to his dedication, discipline, and perseverance to SCD. He is now 20 years old, a junior in college, and has been adapting to a new learning curve balancing his lifestyle with diet and his immune system. A tough lesson, but much easier than being in and out of hospitals, facing multiple surgeries, toxic medications, and a life intertwined with flaring interruptions. If the most difficult thing about IBD is learning to eat healthy the rest of your life, I am grateful! As difficult as this moment is for my son, I’m sure he is grateful for SCD too! I will hug my son when I drive 6 hours to pick him up, and 6 more hours to bring him home to recuperate for the quarter. Life could be much worse! Thank you for your support in bringing a community closer together in support of one another Paige.

    • Thank you for sharing!!! Good luck to your son! We would love to hear tips and experiences through you and your sons college SCD adventure. We will all be there one day. We will be praying for you and your son!

  4. Paige,
    I am so sorry to hear about your friend’s loss. My heart goes out to her. I truly cannot imagine losing a child. And you’re right – it puts everything in perspective.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

