Question for Moms of Teens

I had an idea pop up today. Just curious what other moms of teenagers thought. My son always seems like none of his friends understand his diet and right now after having to start the diet again he seems very down and making comments that he doesn’t have any friends. I have heard some moms out there say some of the same things about their teens. I was curious if I started a blog for Justin to post and share his thoughts and favorite foods/recipes if you think your children would like it and participate? It would give them a place to go like we do to not feel like we are alone. I will set him up an email address where they can share things and we can post their comments. I was just wondering if any of you moms thought this would be good for your children. We are always saying how great it is here to hear that we are not alone, and that we wish we could get our kids together. I was hoping this might be something great for our children! I can only imagine how they feel if us moms are feeling alone!
Comments please! Thanks!

22 thoughts on “Question for Moms of Teens

  1. That’s a great idea Paige. I think you will have to monitor it though to make sure they’re okay. And while I absolutely wouldn’t have a problem with that, you might want to make sure they understand that going forward. I love the idea!! Thanks as always!! Smooches!!

  2. My daughter did the diet for a year her junior year in high school, I know she cheated at times and in the end she still had ulcerations. It is hard being around your friends and not being able to eat the same foods. They don’t understand as that age does not think of those things unless it effects them. These kids look like any other to the world and their condition is not forefront to their peers, until they are really not feeling well. They are troopers
    and keep up with the rest of the world until their condition causes them severe pain.
    My suggestion to you would be to possibly just advice your son to the fact eating healthy is a popular thing now amongst many people and that includes kids, high schoolers, and college kids. The American diet is usually unhealthy for everyone and maybe if you show him new dishes with fresh food, even if it may need seasonings not on the diet he will feel empowered and develop a palette appreciation of these foods.
    I know you mentioned a wee bit of cheating and things like soy sauce added may not do much to change things for his condition. It’s a hard road which I know you’ve been on the longest, but it won’t be long before he’s in college and their food is less then desirable.
    Tell him if he becomes a great and healthy cook, he’ll have his peers wanting a dinner invite all the time.
    Just a thought as my daughter is now a sophomore in college and I know it’s hard for these young adults to maintain their health during the college years.

    Marcia

  3. I like this idea too. My son is not a teenager yet, but he doesn’t know anyone else on the diet and I think he would to have a connection to others who understand.

  4. Hi, my daughter (16) said she’d participate. She does most of her own cooking. Let us know if you decide to do it. Thanks! Carrie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  5. My 14 year-old daughter who has UC and has been on the SCD for 10 months now said she would love to read Justin’s blog and/or post comments, etc…

  6. Kate is just 10, but I know she finds comfort in knowing she is not the only one eating this way to be healthy. She and I together would love to participate. I think it’s a wonderful idea. You are such a great mom, Paige– always thinking of ways to support Justin and all these kiddos ( and moms).

  7. My boys are younger (7 and 9). However, they think they are the one kids in the world on this diet too. I am sure it’s harder for older kids who are more social. Good luck to all of you. I think this is a great idea!!! And if it ever expands into the younger age range, count us in!!!

  8. I love this idea. My Rose is having a tough time with her u c proctitis. She needs friends and support. Thank you!

  9. Hi – I have a 13 year old son with Crohns new to the SCD diet and I think this is a great idea. Caleb moves through days of anger and sadness being on the diet to others of optimism. Although, he might not participate initially, I think it would be great for him to see and read from other kids with Crohns and dealing with the same issues he is (bake sales, eating out, not being able to eat pizza etc.). Once the blog is up, please let me know. Thanks!

      • Im outside of DC in Maryland. I’m in the marketing/communication business so am happy to help get it going if that is what is needed. I have to believe that there are a ton of kids out there who could be interested in communicating. Maybe a listserve or another format more suited to teenagers like instagram or snapchat? I’ll talk to Caleb and get his input.

Moms want to hear what you have to say!

